Entertain Me, Motherfucker.

I have my dad to thank for my obsession with movies. He loved to introduce my sisters and I to all kinds of different genres of movies. He still does, but it’s a bit more reciprocal since we have suggestions of our own too.

Since the Oscars is airing tonight, I wanted to write about the nominated movies I did get to see. Eventually, I’ll watch all the ones nominated for best picture, but for now I have a couple I really like.

Manchester By The Sea was the first Oscar-nominated movie I saw. I went to the theatre with my mom and I thought it was very touching. My mom thought it was slow and didn’t enjoy it that much, but it’s definitely not the kind of movie she’s used to. Since it pays so much homage to my home state, that’s already a big plus. It’s biased, but it’s true. I can’t help it. Side note: I never knew there was a town in Massachusetts named Manchester by the Sea. Anyway, this film had so many heart-wrenching scenes that you may leave it feeling depressed. It ends on a higher note, but I really wanted more. The teenage boy, Lucas Hedges, really impressed me. His whole demeanor and each scene felt true to life in  a lot of ways. I like this movie, but I have a feeling it won’t win Best Picture.

There was a lot of buzz around La La Land before I had the chance to watch it. I knew it was great after I watched it sweep the Golden Globes. So, my sister and I went to the movies on a rainy day to finally see it. Although I knew what to except, I wasn’t really sure about the exact plot of the movie. The opening song and dance really impressed me and I was already really into it. I did hate how long the horn sounded when Ryan Gosling laid into it. I have sensitive hearing. Nevertheless, I thought this movie was fun, and super sweet. It’s really cool that an original musical has been so amazingly showered in accolades. It’s deserving of that, even though people ended up loving to shit on it. The only part I hated was the end. It was so depressing and I was really looking for a feel good movie. I don’t care that it’s realistic, my life is depressing enough goddammit. I suppose it could win Best Picture, but it seems doubtful.

Moonlight is definitely a movie that could 100% win Best Picture. It was such an interesting look into the life of people you rarely ever see movies about. There were a lot of layers that gave these characters so much life. Since I didn’t see many trailers, I was super impressed and surprised by the story. It was cool to see these characters over a period of time and how life had changed them. Some of it was difficult stuff, but some of it was beautiful too. I watched this by myself on some random website, and it had a big impact on me. It was an amazing, rarely told, story.

I know my opinion doesn’t matter, but I’m just living my life, man. That’s all a girl can do.

Leave a Reply

